+44 (0) 15 64 793552



The 24 Council Members of the Association for European Transport represent the AET members and help with the direction of the association. One third of the Council seats are elected each year at the Annual General Meeting, held at the European Transport Conference.

Council Members are normally elected for three years, with one-third of the Council standing down for re-election each year. If you are an AET member and would like to be considered for the next election please let us know by using the contact us form.

Members elected until October 2018:

  • Oliver Charlesworth (UK)
  • Colin Chick (UK)
  • Peter Davidson (UK)
  • Conall MacAongusa (IE)
  • Csaba Orosz (HU)
  • Gisela Graefin von Schlieffen (DE)

Members elected until October 2019:

  • Francis Cirianni (IT)
  • Domokos Esztergar-Kiss (HU)
  • Olga Feldman (NL)
  • Wim Korver (NL)
  • Stephen Luke (UK)
  • John McCarthy (IE)
  • Johnny Ojeil (UK)
  • Christian Winkler (DE)

Members elected until October 2020:

  • Michael Bach (UK)
  • Angela di Febbraro (IT)
  • Graham Ellis (UK)
  • Jan Francke (NL)
  • James Odeck (NO)
  • Luigi dell'Olio (IT)
  • Peter Snelson (UK)



The Association for European Transport's Board is appointed by the AET Council. It is accountable to AET members via the representation of the Council for developing the Association and the European Transport Conference.

The AET Board consists of up to seven members appointed by the Council. The Board is responsible for agreeing its own roles and responsibilities amongst its members, however, it must have a Chairman, Secretary and Treasurer.

The current Association Board consists of:

  • Chairman: Pierluigi Coppola (IT)
  • Secretary: Hermann Maier (UK)
  • Treasurer: Hermann Maier (UK)
  • Directors: Elaine Seagriff (UK), Remko Smit (NL), Angel Apariocio (ES), Enrica Papa (IT), Barry Zondag (NL)

Other roles of the board members are:

  • Marketing and Newsletter: Peirluigi Coppola and Enrica Papa
  • Links with International Organisations and Associations: Angel Aparicio
  • Website: Remko Smit 
  • Conference management team: Hermann Maier and Pierluigi Coppola
  • AET vision: Elaine Seagriff
  • Peer review of ETC papers and publications: Pierluigi Coppola

Association For
European Transport

Forester House
Doctors Lane,
Henley-in-Arden B95 5AW,
United Kingdom

+44 (0) 15 64 793552


VAT number: 710 1866 64

Conference Supporters & Endorsers